NEW AGE AUTHOR & REBEL SERVES YOU

Visibility is key

So, just the other day I read this brilliant book. Curious about the author, I started to do what most readers do. I Googled the crap out of him. His social media pages offered some book links and jokes, but very little in terms of who he was. What was his Amazon Author page, was equivalent to that of a news reader’s resume. Short and to the point. He did this and he did that, now he’s an Author (Yay).
So it brings me to this little nugget of wisdom to share…

If you are an author/ writer, then you are a BRAND. You are a business. You need to be visible not only on Social Media but also on the web. I’m astounded at how many authors don’t have websites. An Amazon page only tells you so much! A website gives you personality! You need to shine your own little light and sparkle for the world to know who you are and why they should read your books.
Get your readers excited to get to know the real you. Let them be able to see deeper into your heart and soul.

Many authors (myself included) use their blogs to showcase other authors and share some wise old words here and there, but that’s not enough. Have a intriguing website to show the world who you are, what you do and why you are so unique.

Please don’t be like this?

who are you

 

11 responses

  1. Precisely, don’t hide! Make your presence known.

    Like

    April 5, 2016 at 2:55 am

  2. Hmm… It seems like my comment disappeared.

    I remember when I worked with an indie publisher who mostly published new authors and trying to get them to understand that they were a business and the book the wrote was a product. I think it is difficult for new authors to think of themselves as more than an individual. It seemed a little easier for those who wrote under a pseudonym.

    Like

    March 31, 2016 at 12:55 am

  3. blakelybennett

    I pretty much thought that was a given.

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 10:51 pm

  4. Kiru Taye

    Hahaha. So true. Great advice, Ash. Same thing happened to me over the weekend. I listened to great audiobook and went in search of the author. I tell you. She wasn’t easy to find but I eventually tracked down a website with barely any information.

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 8:54 pm

  5. I don’t think a lot of new indie authors understand that they are a business. When I worked for an indie publisher I tried to get authors to understand that their book was a product and it required more than just being written.

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 8:50 pm

  6. Very true…..another layer of effort for us authors, but one well worth it.

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 9:26 am

    • Author Ash Stone

      Not to mention another expense for us authors! I think people are under the impression that Authors roll in money.

      Like

      March 29, 2016 at 1:56 pm

  7. It’s hard to be open and welcoming to everyone since most authors are introverts. I find it easier to write my mind than say it to someone. So blogs are good for me. I created a WIX website last year. It’s so hard to maneuver that I mostly use WordPress and Blogspot.

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 6:22 am

    • Author Ash Stone

      I understand exactly what you mean about being introverted. I’m glad that you at least have one. A few years ago I had one of these free websites through Weebly and sadly it wasn’t user friendly and offered very little to make myself stand out. I splurged a little since on a new one through WordPress.org. Same as WordPress.com. Maybe try those?

      Like

      March 29, 2016 at 1:55 pm

  8. Great advice. Thanks for taking the time to share it with us. I shall try and keep that in mind 🙂

    Like

    March 29, 2016 at 4:52 am

    • Author Ash Stone

      Thank you for taking the time to read my post. I appreciate your commitment to helping your fellow authors.

      Liked by 1 person

      March 29, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

